Photograph taken by renowned photographer James Blakeway. Commissioned in 1827 by John Quincy Adams, this light is located at the west side entrance to Muscongus Bay in Maine. In 1835, faulty construction necessitated the replacement of the original lighthouse with the 38-foot tower seen in this photograph. This lighthouse sits atop unique striated rock formations formed by glacial ice and waves pounding the area in strong storms. The light, visible on a clear day for 14 miles, was the first in Maine to be automated in 1934. The keeper’s house now houses the Fisherman’s Museum operated by the town of Bristol.
Size: 13 1/2 in. x 40 in.
This fine art print is reproduced on pH neutral heavy art stock with UV resistant ink.
This item is available framed or just as the print. Please choose framed or unframed from the drop down menu. Unless an option is selected we will ship the unframed print.
Ships UPS ground the same or next business day of order.